SECOND TO ONE

In my book, I wrote about the many canal-based cities like Amsterdam, St Petersburg, Stockholm, Copenhagen and Hamburg that would have us believe they resemble Venice. Brugge in Belgium does it too; it labels itself “Venice of the North.” I went on to say in “Just the Ticket,” that Italy’s famous sinking city is unique and that, in my opinion, there is no prize for second. But there is now, and I award it to “Venice of the East” in Rajasthan in India. Who would have thought that Udaipur, which is devoid of canals, would qualify? My pictures show that, with a little imagination, one could think they were enjoying the vista from the banks of the Grand Canal. The last two shots give the game away. Holy cow!

 

1

2

3

4

5

Leave a Reply

